Beethoven Cycle:
The Piano Trios

Three Piano Trios, published in 1795 as his Opus 1, marked young Ludwig van Beethoven’s first, confident steps onto the public stage as a composer—a beginning that immediately opened up new perspectives. As a prelude to the Beethoven Year, Daniel Barenboim, Michael Barenboim, and Kian Soltani—who previously presented the composer’s complete piano trios during the Pierre Boulez Saal’s 2017–18 season—revisit these milestones of the genre. Their two programs are completed by the “Kakadu” Variations on a melody by Moravian composer Wenzel Müller.

With courage,

when it is of the right kind, one wins in every direction.

Ludwig van Beethoven, in a letter to Marie von Erdődy

The Piano Trios

Discover More Beethoven Cycles

The Piano Sonatas

Daniel Barenboim

The Violin Sonatas

Daniel Barenboim & Pinchas Zukerman

The String Quartets

Belcea Quartet