Michelangelo String Quartet

View Artists

Paul McNamara


Teju Cole


Thomas Guggeis


Students of the Barenboim-Said Akademie



Arnold Schönberg

Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte op. 41 for String Quartet, Piano and Narrator

A Quartet for Edward Said

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in C-sharp Minor op. 131

Questions and Answers with Teju Cole

Duration: c.: 3h 30m

In “A Quartet for Edward Said,” Teju Cole, author of Open City, Known and Strange Things, and Blind Spot, presents an interweaving of the personal and the political in four cities in which he has felt Said’s presence: Ramallah, Beirut, New York, and Berlin. His lecture is framed by performances of Schoenberg’s Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte and Beethoven’s String Quartet Op. 132.

All lectures will be in English with simultaneous German translation. Headphones will be provided. A valid photo ID (or €50) must be given as a deposit.