Alexandre Kantorow



Franz Liszt

Après une lecture du Dante S 161/7 (from Années de pèlerinage, deuxième année: Italie)

Johann Sebastian Bach

Chaconne from the Partita for Solo Violin BWV 1004

Arranged for Piano left hand by Johannes Brahms

Alexander Skrjabin

Vers la flamme Op. 72

Poème for Solo Piano

Robert Schumann

Piano Sonata No. 1 in F-sharp minor Op. 11

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

After discarding his first ambitious attempt at a piano sonata, Robert Schumann emerged from the shadow of Beethoven with his F-sharp major work, written at the age of 25. Liszt’s “Dante” Sonata, with its subtitle “Fantasia quasi Sonata,” also acknowledges the great composer’s model. French pianist Alexandre Kantorow, previously heard at the Pierre Boulez Saal in June 2021 in a celebrated solo recital, combines these two works with Brahms’s arrangement of Bach’s famous Chaconne and Scriabin’s haunting tone poem Vers la flamme.