Arditti Quartet


Béla Bartók

String Quartet No. 3 Sz 85

Philippe Manoury

Fragmenti String Quartett No. 4

String Quartett No. 2

Alban Berg

Lyric Suite for String Quartet

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

One of the world’s foremost ambassadors of contemporary music, the Arditti Quartet brings its adventurous spirit to a program combining two early 20th-century classics with a pair of recent works. Bartók’s Third String Quartet, written in 1927, was inspired by a performance of Berg’s landmark Lyric Suite, completed the year before. These two masterpieces frame compositions by Philippe Manoury (b. 1952), who had a long-standing relationship with Pierre Boulez and has worked at Paris’s IRCAM since the 1980s, and Christophe Bertrand. A protégé of Boulez’s who tragically committed suicide in 2010 at the age of 29, Bertrand left behind a small oeuvre of chamber and vocal music that won him early acclaim, including two string quartets premiered by the Arditti Quartet. The London-based ensemble, founded more than 40 years ago by lead violinist Irvine Arditti, has performed countless world premieres, including many works commissioned by and dedicated to the four musicians.