Arditti Quartet

View Artists


Ruth Crawford Seeger

String Quartet

Anton Webern

String Quartet op. 28

Morton Feldman


Conlon Nancarrow

String Quartet No. 3

Harrison Birtwistle

String Quartet

The Tree of Strings

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

The Arditti Quartet has long been celebrated for its groundbreaking interpretations of works from the 20th and 21st centuries. In its concert, the ensemble examines the diverse legacy of musical modernism—from its purest expression in works by Webern and Ruth Crawford Seeger up to the vibrant imprints it has left on contemporary works by Morton Feldman, Conlon Nancarrow, und Harrison Birtwistle.

At the end of the season, the Quartet Week casts a spotlight on what many consider to be the quintessential chamber music format. Between June 7 and 16, eleven extraordinary international ensembles will explore both the historical development and the vast emotional scope of the string quartet genre in the intimate space of the Pierre Boulez Saal.