Belcea Quartet

View Artists


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartet in B-flat major K. 589

Béla Bartók

String Quartet No. 6 Sz 114

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

String Quartet in F minor Op. 80

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

The Belcea Quartet returns to the Pierre Boulez Saal as ensemble in residence during the 2018–19 season, performing a series of three concerts that contrast Classical and Romantic repertoire with landmark works of the 20th century. The first program features three quartets written in the final years of their composers’ lives: Mozart’s 1790 work in B-flat major is followed by Bartók’s sixth and last string quartet, written in 1939 before he emigrated to the United States. Mendelssohn’s highly expressive quartet in F minor, known as “Requiem for Fanny,” was composed in reaction to the loss of his sister, just weeks before his own death.