Belcea Quartet

View Artists

Piotr Anderszewski



Franz Schubert

String Quartet in C minor D 703 "Quartettsatz"

Benjamin Britten

String Quartet No. 3 op. 94

Dmitri Shostakovich

Piano Quintet in G Minor op. 57

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

The second concert in the Belcea Quartet’s cycle brings together compositions by two giants of the 20th century. Britten’s String Quartet No. 3, written in 1975, a year before the composer’s death, remained his last completed instrumental work. Shostakovich wrote his Piano Quintet for the musicians of the Beethoven Quartet, with whom he had a longstanding collaboration, and at the premiere performed the piano part himself. The Belcea Quartet is joined for this piece by Polish-Hungarian pianist Piotr Anderszewski. The program opens with Schubert’s dramatic “Quartet Movement”—a precursor of his three late string quartets, which only saw the light of day a half century after it was written, thanks to the efforts of Johannes Brahms.