Belcea Quartet
Corina Belcea


Axel Schacher


Krzysztof Chorzelski


Antoine Lederlin



Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in B flat Major Op. 130 and Grosse Fuge B flat Major Op. 133

Dmitri Shostakovich

String Quartet No. 15 in E-Flat Major Op. 144

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

The Belcea Quartet first performed at the Pierre Boulez Saal as part of the opening season’s Quartet Festival in April 2017. Now the four musicians return as the ensemble in residence for the 2017–18 season to present a cycle of three concerts featuring works from the Classical and Romantic eras to music of our time (including Krzysztof Penderecki’s String Quartet No. 4, which had its world premiere last year performed by the Belcea Quartet). At the center of the cycle is a Beethoven program that will interweave the composer’s late B-flat Major Quartet and the celebrated “Grosse Fuge” with a “surprise” selection of works by other composers.