Belcea Quartet

View Artists


Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in F major Op. 18/1

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in B-flat major Op. 130 (with Grosse Fuge in B-flat major Op. 133)

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

As ensemble in residence, the Belcea Quartet has been closely associated with the Pierre Boulez Saal since the opening season. In celebration of Beethoven’s 250th birthday, the four musicians now set out to explore the mighty cosmos of the composer’s 16 string quartets, juxtaposing works from his early, middle, and late periods in six concerts spread out over the course of the season. The complete cycle will then be heard again as part of the Quartet Week in May, with the works grouped chronologically in the order of their composition.