Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet

View Artists


Arnold Schoenberg

String Quartet in D Major

Joseph Haydn

String Quartet in A major Hob. III:36 Op. 20/6

Arnold Schoenberg

String Quartet No. 1 in D minor Op. 7

Approximate running time: 1h 45m without intermission
Over the course of the 2021–22 season, the Staatskapelle String Quartet embarks on a four-part cycle performing Arnold Schoenberg’s complete string quartets. The first program opens with a look back at the “father” of the genre, Joseph Haydn, which is followed by Schoenberg’s very first substantial composition, his 1897 Quartet—a work audibly indebted to the composer’s study of the music of Dvořák—and the D-minor Quartet, written seven years later.