Boulez Ensemble
Daniel Barenboim

Conductor, Piano

Emmanuel Pahud



Johann Sebastian Bach

Sonate e-moll BWV 1034 für Flöte und Basso continuo

Luca Francesconi

Daedalus for Flute and Ensemble - World Premiere - commissioned by the Daniel Barenboim Foundation

Johann Sebastian Bach

Sonate Es-Dur BWV 1031 für Flöte und Cembalo

Pierre Boulez

Dérive 1

Johann Sebastian Bach

Sonate h-moll BWV 1030 für Flöte und Cembalo

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

A new work by Italian composer Luca Francesconi (b. 1956) is at the center of the program performed by Daniel Barenboim and the Boulez Ensemble. A native of Milan and a former student of Stockhausen and Berio, Francesconi is known both for his concert works and his innovative compositions for the theater. The program also includes Pierre Boulez’s Dérive 1 and two of Bach’s flute sonatas, performed by Emmanuel Pahud.