Boulez Ensemble
Daniel Barenboim

Conductor, Piano


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Klavierquartett g-moll KV 478

Johannes Boris Borowski

Encore for Ensemble

World premiere (Commissioned by the Daniel Barenboim Foundation)

Arnold Schoenberg

Verklärte Nacht ("Transfigured Night") String Sextet in D Minor Op. 4

Daniel Barenboim takes the helm as conductor and pianist in a program that contrasts Mozart’s G Minor Piano Quartet with Schoenberg’s emotionally charged, late-Romantic string sextet Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), and a new work for string sextet, winds, and percussion by rising German composer Johannes Boris Borowski that draws connections to both Mozart and Schoenberg. Born in 1979, Borowski was a resident artist at Paris’s Cité Internationale des Arts, among others, and has collaborated with the Ensemble Modern, the Ensemble intercontemporain, and conductors including Pierre Boulez and Daniel Barenboim.