Boulez Ensemble
François-Xavier Roth


Donatienne Michel-Dansac



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Quartet for Oboe and String Trio in F Major K. 370 / 368b

Pierre Boulez

Le Marteau sans maître

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony for15 Solo Instruments op. 9

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

Conductor François-Xavier Roth and alto Donatienne Michel-Dansac join the Boulez Ensemble for Mozart’s virtuosic Oboe Quartet, Schönberg’s early Chamber Symphony, and Boulez’s own Le Marteau sans Maître—three works that mark milestones in their composers’ careers. Mozart wrote his quartet just months before he took the bold step of establishing himself as an independent, self-employed composer in Vienna. The Chamber Symphony stands at the end of Schönberg’s late-Romantic years, looking ahead to atonality and other, more revolutionary things to come. And with Le Marteau, a setting of surrealist poems by René Char for alto and six instrumentalists first heard in 1955, the 30-year-old Boulez created the work that, to this day, has remained most closely associated with his name.