Boulez Ensemble
Lisa Batiashvili



Sergei Prokofiev

Quintet G Major op. 39 for Oboe, Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Doublebass

Vladimir Tarnopolski

Perpetuum Möbius

World Premiere Commissioned by the Daniel Barenboim Foundation

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky

String Sextet in D Minor Op. 70 "Souvenir de Florence"

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

Following the opening concert on March 5, the performance cycle of the Boulez Ensemble continues with a trio of Russian works from three different centuries, featuring Georgian violinist Lisa Batiashvili and others. Prokofiev’s quintet for oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, and bass began as a chamber ballet, Trapeze, written in 1924 for a touring dance company in Paris. Most of its music was later incorporated into a concert version published as the Opus 39 quintet. Known as Souvenir de Florence, Tchaikovsky’s string sextet was inspired by the his stay in the Italian city in the spring of 1890. These two works frame a new composition by Vladimir Tarnopolski, written for the Boulez Ensemble. Born in 1955 and educated at Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Tarnopolski began his career in the late Soviet era and in more recent years has worked with the Ensemble Modern, the Ensemble intercontemporain, the Klangforum Wien, and many others.