Antonio Pappano

Conductor, Piano

Boulez Ensemble

View Artists


Benjamin Britten

Sinfonietta Op. 1

Harrison Birtwistle

5 Lessons in a frame

Edward Elgar

Piano Quintet in A Minor Op. 84

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

Two 20th-century masterworks of English music are at the center of this program by the Boulez Ensemble: Elgar’s late Piano Quintet shares the bill with Britten’s Sinfonietta, written by the precocious 18-year-old composer and published as his Opus 1. Sir Antonio Pappano, music director of the Royal Opera House, will be at the piano and conduct.