Daniel Barenboim

Musical Direction

Boulez Ensemble

View Artists


Pierre Boulez


Ludwig van Beethoven

Septet in E flat major Op. 20

Jörg Widmann

Labyrinth IV for Soprano and Ensemble

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Continuing a new tradition, Daniel Barenboim and the Boulez Ensemble join forces once again to conclude the season. The program features the second performance of Labyrinth IV—the new piece by Jörg Widmann, who has been closely associated with the Pierre Boulez Saal from the beginning, not only as a composer and clarinetist but also as a professor at the Barenboim-Said Akademie. Rounding out the program are Pierre Boulez’s Messagesquisse and Beethoven’s ravishing Septet for Winds and Strings.

Labyrinth IV: A conversation with Jörg Widmann

  • 00:00 - Labyrinth IV
  • 01:18 - Collaboration with Sarah Aristidou
  • 03:15 - Daniel Barenboim’s Trust
  • 04:06 - An extreme work for the Boulez Ensemble
  • 05:11 - Unexpected composition’s process: Ariadne in focus
  • 09:00 - Euripides, Brentano, Heine, and Nietzsche
  • 11:44 - Ariadne and the Minotaur, her half-brother
  • 13:12 - The symbolism of the Minotaur. Does it exist?