Boulez Ensemble

View Artists

Daniel Barenboim

Conductor, Piano

Emmanuel Pahud


Sophie Dervaux

Bassoon / Contrabassoon


Ludwig van Beethoven

Trio for Piano, Flute, and Bassoon in G major WoO 37

Luca Francesconi

Daedalus for Flute and Ensemble

Dmitri Shostakovich

Two Pieces for String Octet Op. 11

Elliott Carter

Flute Concerto

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Following its successful world premiere last season, Emmanuel Pahud, Daniel Barenboim, and the Boulez Ensemble once again explore the complex sonic maze of Luca Francesconi’s Daedalus: a work of fascinating ambiguity that revolves around the ideas of order and chaos, reason and emotion. Completing the program are compositions by Shostakovich and Beethoven, as well as the late Elliott Carter’s Flute Concerto, premiered in 2008 by Emmanuel Pahud.