Boulez Ensemble

View Artists

Thomas Guggeis



Johann Sebastian Bach

Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major BWV 1046

Paul Hindemith

Chamber Music No. 1 for 12 Solo Instruments Op. 24/1

Saed Haddad

Sombre for 13 Musicians

World Premiere

Igor Stravinsky

Concerto in E-flat for Chamber Orchestra "Dumbarton Oaks"

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Thomas Guggeis—kapellmeister at the Stuttgart Opera since 2018 and previously Daniel Barenboim’s assistant at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden—makes his debut leading the Boulez Ensemble with the world premiere of Sombre, a new composition by Jordanian composer Saed Haddad. He also conducts Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 and works from the 1920s and 30s by Hindemith and Stravinsky—two composers strongly influenced by the music of Bach.