Zubin Mehta in Conversation with Michael Barenboim

In German

  • 00:07 Personal Memories: Conducting Schönberg's Chamber Symphony
  • 03:28 A heartbreaking work: George Crumb's "Ancient Voices of Children"
  • 05:47 Zubin Mehta's relationship with the Pierre Boulez Saal


Boulez Ensemble

View Artists

Zubin Mehta


Mojca Erdmann



George Crumb

Ancient Voices of Children

Béla Bartók

Sonata for Solo Violin Sz 117

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony for 15 Solo Instruments Op. 9

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

In search of the lost voices of childhood, Zubin Mehta, Mojca Erdmann, and the Boulez Ensemble take on George Crumb’s seminal work Ancient Voices of Children, an experimental setting of poems by Federico García Lorca written in 1970. Schoenberg’s 1906 Chamber Symphony, one of the most influential compositions of musical modernism, completes the program.