Daniel Barenboim

Conductor and Piano

Sarah Aristidou


Jörg Widmann


Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet

View Artists

Boulez Ensemble


Franz Schubert

String Quartet in C minor D 703 "Quartettsatz"

Alban Berg

Four Pieces for Clarinet and Piano Op. 5

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Clarinet Quintet in A major K. 581

Jörg Widmann

Labyrinth IV for Soprano and Ensemble

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Premiered to great acclaim at the Pierre Boulez Saal by Daniel Barenboim, Sarah Aristidou, and the Boulez Ensemble in June 2019, Jörg Widmann’s Labyrinth IV returns for the opening of the season. In this re-interpretation of the Minotaur myth, the composer sets texts by Euripides, Brentano, Heine, and Nietzsche. Widmann also performs the clarinet part in works by Mozart and Alban Berg. The program opens with Schubert’s Quartet Movement.