[...] BOULEZ ENSEMBLE XXVII - Pierre Boulez Saal


Boulez Ensemble
Oksana Lyniv


Madrigalchor Bukarest


Jérémie Moreau


Schaghajegh Nosrati


Itai Navon



Igor Stravinsky

Octet for Winds

Igor Stravinsky

Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Igor Stravinsky

Les Noces for Soloists, Choir, four Pianos, and Percussion

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

After concerts dedicated to compositions of Boulez, Ligeti, and Ustvolskaya, the Boulez Ensemble presents a fourth “monothematic” program with this homage to Igor Stravinsky. The three works reflect the composer’s transition from the “Russian” style of his earlier years to his neo-classical period: Les Noces, a ballet about a Russian peasant wedding begun in 1914 but not premiered until nearly a decade later, once more reveals Stravinsky’s fascination with the traditional music of his homeland. The Symphonies of Wind Instruments from 1920 and the Wind Octet, written a few years later, marked the beginning of his exploration of 18th-century techniques and forms.