Lahav Shani

Conductor and Piano

Boulez Ensemble


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-flat major K. 452

Isabel Mundry

Der Körper der Saite for Cello and Ensemble

World Premiere of the Revised Version – Commissioned by the Daniel Barenboim Foundation

Richard Strauss

Sonatina No. 1 for 16 Wind Instruments in F major "From the Workshop of an Invalid"

Approximate running time: 1h 15m with one intermission

Lahav Shani, who has appeared at the Pierre Boulez Saal in previous seasons both as pianist and conductor, leads the Boulez Ensemble in the world premiere of the revised version of Isabel Mundry's Der Körper der Saite for cello and ensemble. The concert is bookended by Richard Strauss’s late Sonatina for Winds, a work of symphonic proportions, and Mozart’s Quintet K. 452, with Shani taking on the piano part.