Thomas Guggeis


Mojca Erdmann


Boulez Ensemble

View Artists


Arnold Schoenberg

Die eiserne Brigade – March for String Quartet and Piano

Arnold Schoenberg

Serenade Op. 24

Arnold Schoenberg

Pierrot lunaire Op. 21

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

Following an all-Ligeti program in December, the Boulez Ensemble’s second “monothematic” concert this season is focused on the music of Arnold Schoenberg— an equally progressive and paradox personality and one of the most influential artists of the 20th century. Led by Staatskapellmeister Thomas Guggeis, who made his debut with the Boulez Ensemble last season, the musicians explore the oeuvre of the “father” of musical Modernism from multiple and surprising angles. Soprano Mojca Erdmann takes on the solo part in Pierrot lunaire.