Antonello Manacorda


Robin Johannsen


Anicio Zorzi Giustiniani


Jeeyoung Lim


Paul McNamara


Boulez Ensemble

View Artists


Claudio Monteverdi

Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda

Luca Francesconi

Sans for Ensemble

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Quartet in E-flat major K. 493

Arnold Schoenberg

Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte for String Quartet, Piano, and Sprechstimme Op. 41

Approximate running time: 1h without intermission

Toward the end of the season, the Boulez Ensemble once more explores a range of repertoire, from the 17th century to the present. Led by Antonello Manacorda for the first time, the musicians take on Monteverdi’s dramatic madrigal Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda and Schoenberg’s Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte, a musical plea against tyranny, written in 1942–43 in the composer’s American exile on a text by Lord Byron. The program concludes with two ensemble pieces by Luca Francesconi, whose works were heard in several concerts over the preceding months.

For all June concerts, visitors must present a negative test result no more than 24 hours old or proof of either recovery or full vaccination. More information can be found in our protective and hygiene measures.