Antonio Pappano


Boulez Ensemble
Claudius Popp



Paul Hindemith

Theme with four Variations for Piano and Strings "The Four Temperaments"

Johannes Brahms

Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in E minor Op. 38

Franz Schreker

Chamber Symphony for 23 Instruments

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

The program of Sir Antonio Pappano and the Boulez Ensemble pairs two rarely performed compositions of the 20th century: Hindemith’s Theme and Four Variations is inspired by the “Four Temperaments” theory of antiquity, which defined character types as either sanguine, choleric, melancholic, or phlegmatic. Schreker’s single-movement Chamber Symphony was written in response to Schoenberg’s work of the same title. For Brahms’s E-minor Cello Sonata, Pappano is joined by Claudius Popp.