Carolyn Sampson sings "Let me Weep" from Purcell's Fairy Queen


Carolyn Sampson


Kristian Bezuidenhout



August Bernhard Valentin Herbing

Montan and Lalage

from Musikalischer Versuch in Fabeln und Erzählungen des Herrn Prof. Gellert

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Das Lied der Trennung K. 519

Friedrich Gottlob Fleischer

Das Clavier

from Oden und Lieder mit Melodien

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Piano Sonata in E minor Wq 59/1

Christian Michael Wolff

An das Clavier

from Sammlung von Oden und Liedern zum Singen

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

An Chloe K. 524

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Als Luise die Briefe ihres ungetreuen Liebhabers verbrannte K. 520

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Abendempfindung an Laura K. 523

Joseph Haydn

Sonata in G minor Hob. XVI:44

Joseph Haydn

Die Verlassene Hob. XXVIa:5

Joseph Haydn

Antwort auf die Frage eines Mädchens Hob. XXVIa:46

Joseph Haydn

Das Leben ist ein Traum Hob. XXVIa:21

Joseph Haydn

Arianna a Naxos «Teseo mio ben» / Solo Cantata Hob. XXVIb:2

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Parting, farewell, loneliness––the darker sides of love are at the center of Carolyn Sampson and Kristian Bezuidenhout’s recital of rarely heard repertoire from the 18th century, performed on a fortepiano. Among the program’s highlights are Herbing’s “dramatic tale” Montan und Lalage (based on a story by Christian Fürchtegott Gellert) and Haydn’s solo cantata Arianna a Naxos, a powerful musical depiction of an abandoned woman.