Chiaroscuro Quartet

View Artists


Joseph Haydn

String Quartet in E-flat major Hob. III:38 "The Joke"

Fanny Hensel

String Quartet in E-flat major

Franz Schubert

String Quartet in D minor D 810 "Death and the Maiden"

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Still overshadowed by the works of her younger brother, the compositions of Fanny Hensel, née Mendelssohn, are no less fascinating and have slowly but steadily been making their way onto concert programs.The Chiaroscuro Quartet, whose first violinist Alina Ibragimova will also be heard in a duo recital with Cédric Tiberghien at the Pierre Boulez Saal this season, performs Hensel’s String Quartet in E-flat major. It is framed by a quartet from Haydn’s groundbreaking Opus 33 and Schubert’s famous D-minor work “Death and the Maiden.”