Christian Tetzlaff


Alexander Lonquich



Johannes Brahms

Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major Op. 100

George Enescu

Sonata for Violin and Piano in F minor Op. 6

Anton Webern

Four Pieces for Violin and Piano Op. 7

César Franck

Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Prior to his solo recital toward the end of the season, Christian Tetzlaff is joined by Alexander Lonquich in a concert of stylistically wide-ranging repertoire for violin and piano from the turn of the last century. Webern’s highly concise Four Pieces of 1910 create an inspiring contrast to 18-year-old Enescu’s passionate Sonata, composed in 1899 during his studies in Paris. Framing the program are the two A-major works by Brahms and Franck, highlights of the genre both written in 1886.