Students of the Barenboim-Said Akademie
Gilbert Nouno

Sound Design & Light Design

Jean Kalman

Lighting Design


Johann Sebastian Bach, György Kurtág

Orgelbüchlein BWV 599–644 (Arrangement for two pianos)


Dmitri Shostakovich

String Quartet No. 8 in C minor Op. 110

Sofia Gubaidulina

Vivente – non vivente for Synthesizer

György Kurtág

String Quartet Op. 1

György Ligeti

Sonata for Solo Cello

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

Following Elizabeth Wilson’s lecture on Shostakovich, students and faculty of the Barenboim-Said Akademie explore the “double-speak” of composers of the Soviet bloc. Out of Bach’s music, Kurtág creates delicate miniatures for two pianists. Shostakovich dedicates his brooding eighth string quartet to the victims of fascism. Gubaidulina, blacklisted in 1979 by Tikhon Khrennikov at the Sixth Congress of the Union of Soviet Composers, uses brazen electronic experimentalism in Vivente – non vivente to subvert Soviet authority. The same Union of Soviet Composers had banned Ligeti's Cello Sonata from performance in 1953. The piece resurfaced only in the 1980s to become a staple in the cello repertoire.