Daniel Barenboim



Franz Schubert

Sonata in B Major D 575

Franz Schubert

Sonata in G Major D 894 "Fantasy Sonata"

Franz Schubert

Sonata in C Minor D 958

Approximate running time: 1h 45m without intermission

Daniel Barenboim embarks on a survey of Schubert’s piano sonatas, as a companion project to his symphony cycle with the Staatskapelle Berlin. Universally recognized as supreme expressions of the Romantic spirit, these works, ignored after the composer’s death for more than a century, today stand at the center of the repertoire, side by side with the piano works of Beethoven, Schubert’s admired predecessor and contemporary. In each of the four recitals, Barenboim offers a journey through Schubert’s creative life, from the youthful sonatas of the earlier years to the great masterworks written during his final months.