Daniel Barenboim



Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata in E major Op. 109

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata in A-flat major Op. 110

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata in C minor Op. 111

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Few musicians in the world are as intimately familiar with Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas as Daniel Barenboim, who has been exploring these works since the earliest days of his career. In 1960, at the age of 17, he first played all 32 sonatas in Tel Aviv. Through countless complete performances and three complete recordings, “his” Beethoven cycle emerged, which combines earlier and later sonatas in each program. Celebrating Beethoven’s 250th anniversary at the Pierre Boulez Saal, Daniel Barenboim for the first time presents these works in chronological order of their creation—providing an exciting look at the composer’s artistic development.

Through September 8, 2019, tickets for this concert are available only as part of the package offer for the complete Piano Sonata Cycle. Individual tickets go on sale September 9.