Danish String Quartet
Frederik Øland


Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen


Asbjørn Nørgaard


Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin



Franz Schubert

String Quartet in G major D 887

An Alleged Suite

Traditional Music and Dance Movements by Marc-Antoine Charpentier, John Adams, and Felix Blumenfeld

Scandinavian Folk Music

Arrangements for String Quartet

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

In 1994, John Adams wrote John’s Book of Alleged Dances, a collection of imaginary dances, the steps of which, as the composer explained, have yet to be invented. For its concert at the Pierre Boulez Saal during Quartet Week, the Danish String Quartet takes the idea even further, presenting an “Alleged Suite,” in which a selection from Adams’s ten movements is combined with works by Marc-Antoine Charpentier, Felix Blumenfeld, and traditional music. Schubert’s monumental G-major String Quartet opens the program, which also includes the four musicians’ own arrangements of Scandinavian folk music.