Denis Kozhukhin



Ludwig van Beethoven

Quintet in E-flat Major Op. 16 for Piano and Winds

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Piano Sextett in D Major Op. 110

Trio pathétique in D Minor for Piano, Clarinet and Bassoon

Modest Mussorgsky

Pictures at an Exhibiton

Approximate running time: 2h without intermission

Pianist Denis Kozhukhin heads an ensemble of musicians from the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra and the Barenboim-Said Akademie for an intimate evening of chamber music that spans most of the 19th century. The concert is bookended by Beethoven’s 1796 Quintet for piano and winds and Mussorgsky’s landmark Pictures at an Exhibition from 1874, in its original version for solo piano. The program also includes works by Mendelssohn and Glinka.

This concert replaces the originally announced evening with Lang Lang, who has cancelled all appearances in the upcoming months because of illness.