Denis Kozhukhin



Johannes Brahms

Four Pieces for Piano op. 119

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony for 15 solo instruments op. 9 (Transcribed for Piano Solo by Eduard Steuermann)

Pierre Boulez

Sonata No. 1

Sergei Prokofiev

Sonata No. 8 in B flat Major op. 84

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Russian pianist Denis Kozhukhin, first heard at the Pierre Boulez Saal in the opening concert in March 2017, has been a regular guest in Berlin’s new concert hall ever since. For his solo recital, in addition to works by Brahms and Prokofiev, he has chosen the stylistically groundbreaking First Sonata by 21-year-old Pierre Boulez and the piano arrangement of Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony by Eduard Steuermann, one of the composer’s students.