Denis Kozhukhin



Franz Schubert

Four Impromptus D 935

Jörg Widmann

Idyll & Abgrund / Six Schubert Reminiscences for Piano

Maurice Ravel

Sonatina for Piano

Pierre Boulez

Douze Notations for Piano

Sergei Prokofiev

Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major Op. 83

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

For his solo recital, Denis Kozhukhin—who will perform chamber works by Galina Ustvolskaya later in the season together with the Boulez Ensemble—pairs Schubert’s Impromptus with Jörg Widmann’s Idyll und Abgrund (“Idyll and Abyss”), a contemporary take on the ambiguity in the Romantic composer’s music. After the intermission, Ravel’s Sonatina is followed by Douze Notations, the first fully acknowledged composition by 20-year-old Pierre Boulez, and Prokofiev’s Sonata in B-flat major, written just a few years earlier during World War II.