Elisabeth Leonskaja



Franz Schubert

Sonata in A Minor D 537

Arnold Schoenberg

Six Little Piano Pieces Op. 19

Franz Schubert

Fantasy in C Major D 760 "Wanderer Fantasy"

Anton Webern

Variations for Piano Op. 27

Franz Schubert

Sonata in A Minor D 845

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Two sonatas by Franz Schubert and the popular “Wanderer” Fantasy—arguably the composer’s most technically challenging piano piece—provide the framework for Elisabeth Leonskaja’s solo recital. Interspersed with these are two landmark works of the Second Viennese School: Schoenberg’s Piano Pieces Op. 19, in which the composer brings extreme conciseness to form and expression, and Webern’s Variations Op. 27, his only published composition for solo piano.