Emanuel Ax



Johannes Brahms

Six Piano Pieces Op. 118

Andrew Norman

Suspend for Solo Piano

Frédéric Chopin

Polonaise-Fantaisie in A-flat major Op. 61

Frédéric Chopin

Scherzo No. 2 in B-flat minor Op. 31

Frédéric Chopin

Selected Mazurkas

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Written for Emanuel Ax, Andrew Norman’s Suspend premiered in 2014 in its original version for piano and orchestra. The composer has since adapted the piece, which is inspired by the life and works of Johannes Brahms, as a version for solo piano. Brahms’s late Piano Pieces Op. 118 open Ax’s recital program, which also includes selected works by Frédéric Chopin.