Ensemble intercontemporain
Matthias Pintscher


Salomé Haller


Dimitri Vassilakis



Alban Berg

Four Pieces for Clarinet and Piano Op. 5

Gérard Grisey

Vortex temporum I-III

for Piano and five instruments

Pierre Boulez

Le Marteau sans maître for Alto and six instruments

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Since its founding by Pierre Boulez more than 40 years ago, the Paris-based Ensemble intercontemporain has been among the world’s leading formations for contemporary music. Following their debut in the opening season, the musicians now return to the Pierre Boulez Saal together with their artistic director, Matthias Pintscher. Salomé Haller is the soloist in Boulez’s Le Marteau sans maître, the work that established the 30-year-old composer’s international reputation. Compositions by Alban Berg and Gérard Grisey, like Boulez a student of Olivier Messiaen, complete the program.

The radio broadcast of this concert on Deutschlandfunk Kultur is scheduled for September 13, 2018 at 8.03 pm