Laurence Dreyfus

Treble Viol and Musical Direction

Phantasm Phantasm

View Artists

Elisabeth Kenny

Lute and Theorbo


John Dowland

"Lachrimae, or Seven Tears"


William Lawes

Consort Sett III in C minor

William Lawes

Royal Consort Sett No. 2 in D minor

John Jenkins

Selected Pavans and Fantasies for five instruments

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

The English viol consort Phantasm and lutenist Elizabeth Kenny explore the world of John Dowland, the most prominent composer of the Elizabethan era. For Laurence Dreyfus, founder of the ensemble, Dowland’s collection Lachrimae, or Seven Tears is “one of the most sensuously tuneful hours of music ever written.” The program’s second half is dedicated to William Lawes and John Jenkins, two composers of a later generation whose works mark the beginning of the transition into the Baroque era.