Ensemble Resonanz
Alexander Melnikov


Jeroen Berwaerts



György Ligeti

Mysteries of the Macabre / Three Arias from Le Grand Macabre

Arrangement for Solo Trumpet and Piano

Galina Ustvolskaya

Concerto for Piano, String Orchestra, and Timpani

Galina Ustvolskaya

Octet for two Oboes, four Violins, Timpani, and Piano

Dmitri Shostakovich

Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra in C minor Op. 35

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Shostakovich, Ustvolskaya, Ligeti––each of these composers poses riddles to their audiences. Alexander Melnikov, Jeroen Berwaerts, and the Ensemble Resonanz constrast Ustvolskaya’s harsh, spiritual sound world with the satirical ambiguity of her teacher Dmitri Shostakovich’s First Piano Concerto. Completing the program are three absurd-farcical episodes from György Ligeti’s towering music theater work Le Grand Macabre.