Helga Karen

Concept and Piano

Miri Saadon


Sindy Mohamed


Anja Clift



Robert Schumann

Märchenerzählungen for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano Op. 132

György Kurtág

Hommage à R. Sch. / Six Pieces for Clarinet (also bass drum), Viola, and Piano Op. 15d

and music by Pierre Boulez, Beat Furrer, and Igor Stravinsky

Approximate running time: 45m without intermission

Before fairy tales were written down and printed in books, they were kept alive by telling them orally and listening carefully. Composers did this as well, but of course they used musical means: Robert Schumann for example gave wonderful voices to the instruments in his Märchenerzählungen (“Fairy Tales”) for clarinet, viola, and piano—but which story they’re telling is left to our own imagination. In this concert, we pair Schumann’s Romantic miniatures with Hommage à R. Sch. by the contemporary composer György Kurtág and delve into other short musical “fairy tales” by Beat Furrer, Pierre Boulez, and Igor Stravinsky. Children and adults are invited to go on a fanciful journey with us, both into the past and the future!