Freiburger BarockConsort

Ensemble for Early Music


Sonata I à 8

Sonata II à 6

Sonata III à 6

Sonata IV à 5

Sontata V à 6

Sonata VI à 5

Sonata VII

Sonata VIII à 5

Sonata IX à 5

Sonata X à 5

Sonata XI à 5

Sonata XII à 8

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

His works are rarely performed today, but Bohemian-Austrian composer Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber ranks among the great Baroque masters and profoundly influenced the development of violin style. The Freiburger Barockorchester takes on the richly colorful 1676 Sonatae tam aris quam aulis servientes, a set of ensemble sonatas that were Biber’s first published compositions.