Gidon Kremer



Luigi Nono

La lontananza nostalgica utopica futura

Mieczysław Weinberg

24 Preludes for Violincello Op. 100 (Arrangement for Violin: Gidon Kremer)

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

In 1988 Luigi Nono wrote La lontananza nostalgica utopica futura for Gidon Kremer. The score calls for speakers to be positioned around the concert hall while the soloist wanders about, thus creating impressions of “near and far, encounters, clashes, silence, the interior, the exterior, overlapping conflicts…” Kremer will also play his violin adaptation of Mieczysław Weinberg’s 24 Preludes for Cello.