Heath Quartet

View Artists

Nico de Rooij

Lighting Design


Johann Sebastian Bach

Excerpts from The Art of the Fugue BWV 1080

György Ligeti

String Quartet No. 2

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Bach’s art of counterpoint meets Ligeti’s micropolyphonic structures: the Heath Quartet, heard in three concerts over the course of the season that highlight many different aspects of the ensemble’s artistry, explores a multitude of musical textures in this program—from the transparent to the labyrinthine, the rigid to the fluid, the Baroque to the modern.