Isabelle Faust


Anna Prohaska


Dominique Horwitz



György Kurtág

Kafka Fragments for Soprano and Violin op. 24

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

György Kurtág’s Kafka Fragments for soprano and violin—40 movements that transform the poet’s words into music of aphoristic conciseness—were written in the 1980s. Two of today’s most versatile artists, Anna Prohaska and Isabelle Faust, take on the challenge of bringing them to dramatic life. Actor Dominique Horwitz, seen last season at the Pierre Boulez Saal in another Kafka program that combined words and music, reads selections from the author’s works.

In German.