Javier Perianes



Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata in A-flat major Op. 26

Frédéric Chopin

Piano Sonata in B-flat minor Op. 35

Joan Guinjoan

La llum naixent (La luz naciente)

Manuel de Falla

Suite for Piano from El amor brujo

Franz Liszt

Funérailles (from Harmonies poétiques et religieuses S 173)

Franz Liszt

Isolde's Liebestod from Richard Wagner's Tristan and Isolde S 447 (Arrangement for Piano)

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission
Spanish pianist Javier Perianes makes his Pierre Boulez Saal debut performing a selection of works connected to the ideas of leave-taking and farewell. Two of the most familiar funeral marches of the piano repertoire form a major part of the sonatas by Beethoven and Chopin. The recital’s second half consists of compositions by Manuel de Falla and Franz Liszt as well as the final work by Catalan composer Joan Guinjoan, who died in 2019.