Highpoints and Unconscious Stirrings


Jiyoon Lee


Giuseppe Guarrera



Petite Suite for Violin and Piano No. 2

Sonata for Solo Violin Sz 117

Petite Suite for Violin and Piano No. 1

Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat major Op. 18

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

As in the previous season, young artists are the focus of four concerts in the “Pierre Boulez Saal Rising Stars” series. Korean violinist Jiyoon Lee, concertmaster of the Staatskapelle Berlin since 2017, and Italian pianist Giuseppe Guarrera, who also performs a solo recital this season, take on four highly individual 20th-century compositions, including two works by Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, a student of Schoenberg.

Presenting Partner: UBS