Kammerakademie Potsdam
Antonello Manacorda

Musical Direction


Richard Wagner

Siegfried Idyll

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony for 15 Solo Instruments Op. 9

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major op. 60

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Three symphonic works of highly different character serve as the calling card of the Kammerakademie Potsdam and its music director, Antonello Manacorda, in Berlin’s new concert hall. Wagner’s lyrical Siegfried-Idyll, his only major orchestral work, was written in 1870 as a birthday present for his wife Cosima. The 1906 Chamber Symphony marks Schoenberg’s transition from his late-Romantic period to the free atonality of the following years. Beethoven’s cheerful Fourth Symphony, first heard in 1807, concludes the program.