Marmen Quartet

View Artists


Joseph Haydn

String Quartet in D major Hob. III:63 Op. 64/5 "The Lark"

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartet in E-flat major K. 428

Salina Fisher

Heal for String Quartet

György Ligeti

String Quartet No. 1 "Métamorphoses nocturnes"

Approximate running time: 1h 35m without intermission

For its Pierre Boulez Saal debut, the London-based Marmen Quartet presents György Ligeti’s thrilling first String Quartet Métamorphoses nocturnes, written in 1953–54. In the first part of their program, the four musicians combine works by Mozart and Haydn with a recent piece by New Zealand composer Salina Fisher: Heal was written for the ensemble in 2020.