Michelangelo String Quartet

View Artists


Béla Bartók

String Quartet No. 3 Sz 85

Nikolai Tcherepnin

String Quartet in A minor Op. 11

Franz Schubert

String Quartet in A minor D 804 "Rosamunde"

Last heard at the Pierre Boulez Saal in 2019, the Michelangelo String Quartet returns with a program spanning a full century: the concert opens with Bartók’s Third String Quartet, the shortest and arguably most experimental of his quartets, written in 1927. Schubert’s “Rosamunde” is among the composer’s three late works of the genre that he began in 1824, intending to “work [his] way toward the great symphony.” Music by Russian composer Nikolai Tcherepnin, whose oeuvre stands on the threshold between late Romanticism and Modernism, completes the program.